Travel Information


Chinese and English are the official languages of Hong Kong, special administrative region (SAR) of the People's Republic of China and is spoken by most of its population. English is widely used in the Government and by the legal, professional and business sectors. All official signs and public transport announcements are bilingual.


A Hong Kong visa is not required for tourists from more than 160 countries. A stay ranging from 7 to 180 days is granted according to nationality. If your country of nationality is not part of the 160 countries, please click here (under part II) to view the visa requirements.

Visas to Mainland China

Most foreign nationals require a visa to enter Mainland China. Visas should be obtained from the Embassy or Consulate General of the People's Republic of China in the applicant's country before departing to Mainland China. A standard China tourist visa is good for sightseeing and visiting friends and relatives and can be obtained for a single entry, double entries or multiple entries. Other visas such as business visas or working visas are also available. 


Visitors entering Mainland China must follow the regulations of the General Administration of Customs of the People's Republic of China. For details, please check the China National Tourism Administration website. 


There is a whole host of transport options connecting Hong Kong to Mainland China and Macau. 


There are frequent daily flights between Hong Kong and major cities in Mainland China. 


The MTR runs regularly through-train intercity services to Mainland China's Guangdong Province, as well as Beijing and Shanghai. The through-train terminus is Hung Hom Station in Kowloon, where travellers pass through Hong Kong immigration control. 


There are fast ferries to and from Macau and destinations along the coast of Mainland China. These services operate from the Hong Kong - Macau Ferry Terminal in Sheung Wan on Hong Kong Island; the China ferry terminal is Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon and Tuen Mun Ferry Terminal in New Territories. 


The currency in China is the Renminbi (RMB), the primary unit of which is the Yuan. The smaller units are the Jiao and the Fen. 1 Yuan is equivalent to 10 Jiao and 1 Jiao equals 10 Fen. 


China is set at GMT/UTC plus eight hours. The country does not observe daylight saving time. 

Image result for hong kong